Alaska Star logo
Alaska Job Net
share on facebook
Alaska Star on Facebook

Story Last modified at 10:03 p.m. on Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Mustang boys skiers dominate in skate/classic Skiathlon races

Alaska Star staff

Another week, another win for the Chugiak Nordic ski team, whose boys team had four skiers in the first eight finishers at the 10-kilometer skate/classic Skiathlon on Jan. 15 at Kincaid Park.

Isaac Lammers finished 3.1 seconds behind South's Forest Mahlen to post the best local finish in the race, which required participants to ski a pair of 2.5-kilometer classic loops around the Kincaid trails, then switch to skate skis and go around for a single 5-kilometer freestyle loop. Lammers trailed Mahlen and Service's Silas Talbot after the classic ski, but he passed the Service star on the skate loop and nearly reeled in Mahlen down the stretch with the day's fastest freestyle performance.

Chugiak's Kenny Brewer used a sizzling skate leg to pass up brother Peter, who held off a charge from teammate Ben Fitzgerald to claim seventh. The four top Chugiak skiers helped the Mustangs go 1-2 in the previous high school race of the season at the Bartlett Relays on Jan. 8.

Alex Loan wasn't far off the pace in 14th for Chugiak and David McPhetres brought up the rear of an extremely fast varsity pack at 17th.

Brandon Blackley cracked the top-20 for the seventh-place Eagle River boys, whose Cam Johnson was 28th. Will Timmons finished 39th, Evan Fisher was 43rd and Ben Smith was 44th.

The Chugiak girls weren't far behind their teammates in blue and black. Krysti McPhetres led the way in third place, while freshman Sarissa Lammers raced to eighth for the second-place Mustangs. Amy Hartke was 18th, followed by sister Sam Hartke (22nd) Kristen Lessard (28th) and Emily Geppart (35th).

West's Annie Liotta won the race, crossing the line 5.4 seconds ahead of South's Stephanie Kirk and 15.3 seconds ahead of McPhetres.

Hannah Stevens led Eagle River's seventh-place squad in 27th, Meri Vihavianen was 36th, Brenna Wheeler was 39th, Hayley Patin placed 44th and Richelle Johnson was 47th.

There are no high school races this weekend, though many of the area's top prep skiers will still be in action for the Besh Cup No. 3 and No. 4 races at Skyview High's Tsalteshi Trails on Jan. 22 and 23 in Soldotna.

10K Classic/Skate Skiathlon

Jan. 15

At Kincaid Park


Team results – 1. Chugiak, 1:44:06.4; 2. Service, 1:44:30.6; 3. South 1:44:57.9; 4. West, 1:57:43.1; 5. Dimond, 1:59:42.6; 6. East, 1:59:21.5; 7. Eagle River, 2:02:46.1.

Top 10 – 1. Forest Mahlen, South, 24:59.9; 2. Isaac Lammers, Chu, 25:03.0; 3. Silas Talbot, Ser, 25:13.8; 4. Jack Novak, South, 26:02.5; 5. Kenny Brewer, Chu, 26:05.6; 6. John Glen, Ser, 26:08.0; 7. Peter Brewer, Chu, 26:24.9; 8. Ben Fitzgerald, Chu, 26:32.9; 9. Austin Hess, Ser, 26:33.9; 10. Jani Lane, Ser, 26:35.4. Other local finishers – 14. Alex Loan, Chu, 27:08.6; 17. David McPhetres, Chu, 27:46.5; 19. Brandon Blackley, ER, 28:17.6; 28. Cam Johnson, ER, 29:47.5; Will Timmons, ER, 31:53.4; 43. Evan Fisher, 32:47.6; 44. Ben Smith, ER, 32:49.2.


Team results – 1. South, 2:01:20.2; 2. Chugiak, 2:08:48.0; 3. West, 2:09:55.0; 4. Dimond, 2:11:30.5; 5. Service, 2:11:21.3; 6. East, 2:13:51.3; 7. Eagle River, 2:32:56.9; 8. Bartlett, 2:47:48.3.

Top 10 – 1. Annie Liotta, West, 29:10.0; 2. Stephanie Kirk, South, 29:15.4; 3. Krysti McPhetres, Chu, 29:25.3; 4. Tristan Ramey, South, 29:59.3; 5. Mackenzie Flynn, East, 30:12.8; 6. Celia Haering, West, 30:36.9; 7. Karina Packer, South, 30:51.3; 8. Sarissa Lammers, Chu, 30:52.8; 9. Marion Woods, Dim, 31:05.4; 10. Tsaina Mahlen, South, 31:14.2. Other local finishers – 18. Amy Hartke, Chu, 33:51.7; 22. Sam Hartke, Chu, 34:38.2; 27. Hannah Stevens, ER, 35:35.9; 28. Kristen Lessard, Chu, 35:46.1; 35. Emily Geppart, Chu, 36:30.3; 36. Meri Vihavianen, ER, 37:00.7; 39. Brenna Wheeler, ER, 37:57.5; 44. Hayley Patin, ER, 42:22.8; 47. Richelle Johnson, ER, 44:11.6.

*For all results, including B, C, D and open races, visit

This article published in The Alaska Star on Wednesday, January 19, 2011.