Alaska Star logo
Alaska Job Net
share on facebook
Alaska Star on Facebook

Story Last modified at 11:06 p.m. on Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Team Alaska has a Chugiak flavor

Alaska Star staff


Chugiak's Isaac Lammers skis a leg during the Bartlett Relays high school race in December. Lammers, who skis for the Alaska Nordic Racing club, was one of seven local skiers named to Team Alaska, which will represent the state at the U.S. Junior Olympics in Minneapolis in March. The team was named based on individual performances in the Besh Cup racing series, which wrapped up Feb. 6 in Fairbanks.
STAR PHOTO by Matt Tunseth

Seven locals – all Mustangs – are set to march to Minneapolis after being named as members of Alaska's 2011 Junior Olympic team.

Six members of the 59-member Team Alaska named Sunday are current Chugiak High students, while the seventh, UAF's Alyson McPhetres, is a Chugiak grad.

The team was named following the final Besh Cup races of the season on Feb. 5-6 in Fairbanks. Earning their way onto the team based on their Besh Cup performances were Sarissa Lammers (J2 women), Alyson McPhetres, Kinsey Loan and Kryston McPhetres (J1/OJ women); Alex Loan and David McPhetres (J2 men); and Isaac Lammers and Ben Fitzgerald (J1/OJ men).

The seven skiers will travel with Team Alaska to Minneapolis, where competition begins March 7.

Both Isaac Lammers and Alyson McPhetres won their respective age groups in Besh Cup racing this season, with Lammers taking first in the J1 men's division and McPhetres winning the OJ women's group.

Lammers picked up his first Besh Cup win of the season on Feb. 5 when he was the first J1 skier across the line in the Besh Cup No. 5 10-kilometer classic ski. Lammers followed that up by finishing second among J1 men in the final Besh race of the season on Feb. 6 in the 10-K mass start freestyle race.

McPhetres, meanwhile, dominated the OJ women's division this season, winning her group in four of six races. She completed her big season by sweeping the weekend's races in Fairbanks.

Also picking up a series win was Eagle River High graduate Lauren Fritz, who clinched a Senior Women's division victory by placing second in the women's classic race and winning the freestyle ski in Fairbanks.

2011 Junior Olympics

Team Alaska

J2 Women – Marion Woods, Mackenzie Flynn, Sarissa Lammers, Hanna Gillis, Mykaela McMullen, Taryn Hunt-Smith, Alezandra Okeson, Jade Hadjukovich, Erin Baker

J1/OJ Women – Alyson McPhetres, Kinsey Loan, Amy Glen, Kailey Mucha, Hannah Boywer, Annie Liotta, Jessica Yeaton, Mackenzie Kanady, Tristan Ramey, Kryston McPhetres, Stephanie Kirk, Teagan Yutrzenka, Sarah Cresap, Karina Packer, Bree Mucha, Celia Haering, Megan Edic, Anna Price, Eliza Rorabough, Savanna Desatoff

J2 Men – Eric Backstrum, Jack Parke, Alex Loan, David McPhetres, Jan (Kuba) Grezda, Thomas O'Harra, Erich Hoefler, Troy Walters

J1/OJ Men – Tyler Kornfield, Andrew Dougherty, Silas Talbot, Logan Hanneman, Peter Mamrol, Forrest Mahlen, Sam Dougherty, Scott Patterson, Ray Wonders, Jack Novak, Isaac Lammers, Eric Ryan, Andrew Arnold, Vanya Rybkin, Patrick Nugent, Ben Fitzgerald, Jani Lane, Austin Hess, Kyle Barnhart, John Glen, Stefan Hadjukovich, Kyle Hanson

This article published in The Alaska Star on Wednesday, February 9, 2011.