Alaska Star logo
Alaska Job Net
share on facebook
Alaska Star on Facebook
Story Last modified at 11:20 a.m. on Thursday, March 10, 2011

Standing tall


Star photo by Melissa DeVaughn

Anchorage School District Superintendent Carol Comeau shares a laugh with Mirror Lake Middle School teacher Mitch Tarter, who was one of 11 area educators honored at the Chugiak-Eagle River Chamber of Commerce and Chugiak-Eagle River Foundation annual Excellence in Education awards. The other honorees included: Alpenglow Elementary, Ellen Wilson; Chugiak Elementary, Tony Sparkman; Eagle River Elementary, Melissa Johnson; Fire Lake Elementary, Kelly Smith; Homestead Elementary, Robin Hopper; Ravenwood Elementary, Dawn Campbell; Gruening Middle School, Kathy Adamich; Chugiak High, Brian Mason; Eagle River High, Paula Strom; and Eagle Academy Charter School, Barbara Patterson. Birchwood ABC elected not to participate.

This article published in The Alaska Star on Thursday, March 10, 2011.